Toggle Accessibility Tools

NatSci Statement on Federal Executive Orders


February 2017


Dear College of Natural Science Students, Faculty and Staff:

In view of the recent federal executive orders on immigration, deportation- and refugee- related issues, and in full support of President Simon's letter to the greater MSU community, the College of Natural Science reaffirms its commitment to a safe, supportive and welcoming environment where all students, faculty and staff can pursue academic and professional success, and where discrimination is not tolerated. 

Throughout the years, both MSU and the college have significantly benefitted from the scientific and cultural contributions of students, faculty and staff from all around the world, including from the countries specifically targeted by the executive orders. It is the firm opinion of the NatSci Council on Diversity and Community that discriminatory actions against specific nationalities have a detrimental effect on the entire Spartan community and on the open culture of scientific inquiry we foster together. It is critical for all of us, as a community, to show compassion and provide our support in every way possible. 

Maintaining a respectful and inclusive campus community requires vigilance. We must, therefore, all stand up against derogatory and discriminatory language or actions whenever we see them. If you experience or witness acts of bias or discrimination, please report these to the Office of Institutional Equity (OIE).

NatSci advisors, faculty and staff are here to support our students. Professional counselors are also available at the MSU Counseling Center. In addition to these resources, the Office of International Students and Scholars (OISS) has set up a special page on its website that includes information and resources related to the latest federal executive order:

It is essential that we all work together to foster an inclusive community where Spartans of all backgrounds can study, work and thrive.


The College of Natural Science Council on Diversity & Community and

R. James Kirkpatrick, Dean